top of page
Writer's pictureJada Star

My Hair Journey

Hey! Ms. Star here! So if you've seen my old pictures on Facebook or Instagram, you'd know that I'd used to wear my hair very much shorter than it is now. But, I'll start from the beginning.

1. Permed And Straightened

Up til I was 7 I always wore my hair long, straight, and permed. I knew it was bad for my hair but it was made my mother happy. But at the same time, it burned the crap outta my scalp. I was so tired of having that shit in my head. But after a while i sort of loved it straight. Crazy right.

2. Weave

After hearing that perm was really bad for your hair and scalp she transferred me over to weave until I grew it out enough to cut off the hair affected by the perm. Then that's when I was tryna act like some boujee African princess when I found out that it originated from Africa. I pretty much had weave in a lot.

3. Heatwave

When my hair was ready to be worn again it was made once again to be bone straight. I wasn't to be caught dead with so-called-nappy hair. But all that heat in excessiveness started taking a toll on my ends. Thus introducing split ends. Which one day, last June to be exact, it lead to something else.

4. The Big Chop

I had enough of having damaged hair so I cut it myself. It still looked cute in fact, the way I wore it was so adorable. But, it was too short to my mom so I had to go back to weave.

5, Natural Hair

By November, my hair grew back to where it was but my mom still thought it was short so I'd wear protective hairstyles making it my own. right now, I'll wear my hair in a fro, braids, weave, straight, and it still represents me. Even right now I have a sew in blended in with my natural hair. I take great care in my hair and make sure that the only person that puts something hot near my hair is me and it's seldom I really use it. I'm the one in control of my hair and the products that go in it.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What is Love?

True love. Soulmate. Forever partner. Till death do you part. It probably was feasible in the 1800s because there were only 1 billion...

My Middle School Experience

Middle school turned out to be a memorable part of my life and it will be held dear to me. The school I went to was for Pre-K to 8th...

Rise To Royalty

Hey! Come read the new book I'm writing! https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Cqew_Mqt5QW1yzCaYUgK3fj6IRt4Ydjq4YSxB2vyvBQ/edit?usp=sharing

bottom of page